Greater Springfield Baptist Church logo

Who We Are


Deacons' Ministry of Greater Springfield

"Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord."

1 Corinthians 15:58


Deacons are servants who are set aside for the purpose of assisting the pastor in caring for the membership. This is done by visiting the sick and the bereaved, leading a fervent prayer life for the benefit of the church body, leading the devotional services, assisting with baptism, serving the Holy Communion, assisting members with needs or securing the appropriate resources to meet those needs.

Deacon Joe L. Daniel, Deacons' Ministry Chairman

Deacon Carter Reese, Deacons' Ministry Assistant Chairman



Deacon John Atkins

Deacon Cornell Barber

Deacon Arlester Benton

Deacon Dwight Bivins

Deacon Earl Butler

Deacon WIllie Chester

Deacon Gene Coleman

Deacon Willie Collins

Deacon Frederick Couch

Deacon Turner Cox

Deacon Joe Daniel

Deacon Isaac Daniel

Deacon Odell Greene

Deacon Edward L. Jackson

Deacon Edward V. Jackson

Deacon William Long

Deacon Eddie Mathes

Deacon Kevin McKenzie

Deacon Preston Price

Deacon Robert Price

Deacon Carter Reese

Deacon Marshall Roberson, Jr.

Deacon Eulas Swint

Deacon S..J. Tuck

Deacon Willie Vickerson

Deacon Adolphus Walker

Deacon Mack White

Deacon Frank Williams

Deacon James Woods

Deacon Ivory Young, Jr,

ArrowIcon BloggerIcon AimIcon DeliciousIcon PaperIcon EtsyIcon FacebookIcon FilmStripIcon FlickrIcon CameraIcon LaunchIcon GooglePlus2Icon GooglePlusIcon HeartIcon InformationIcon InstagramIcon LastfmIcon FrontCameraIcon LinkedInIcon EmailIcon MoneyIcon ItunesIcon MyspaceIcon OpenTableIcon PayPalIcon PencilIcon PersonIcon PhotoIcon PicasaIcon PinterestIcon PodcastIcon RssIcon ShoppingCartIcon SoundCloudIcon StarIcon TableProjectIcon TheCityIcon TumblrIcon Twitter2Icon TwitterIcon TypepadIcon VideoIcon VimeoIcon WordPressIcon YelpIcon YoutubeIcon